We all have insecurities, but the question is how do we get them ??

maxresdefault

For the longest time ever I had insecurities, thinking I’m not pretty enough, I’m not tall enough, I’m not skinny enough, I’m not clever enough etc. The list can go on forever. We all have our own insecurities, yet we never think how we got them. Let me explain.

The other night I was sitting reading some statuses and got some comments on my first blog post that brought back some insecurities. For you to understand this I will have to open up and tell you what happened so let us get right into it.

mistake.jpg

When I was younger, if I remember correctly it was grade 2, in grade 1 my parents were told that my reading isn’t up to standard. I passed grade 1 but instead of going to a “normal” grade 2 class I was placed in the “special class”. Most of you are reading this thinking shame poor thing she was a special needs child, no I wasn’t it was only my reading and my brain was always a term behind so when everyone else was already grasping term 3 I was only grasping term 2. As I got older my brain got used to all the studying so I grasped things quicker and I got better as the years went by,  with that said one of my biggest insecurities is being told either you are dumb or look at your spelling mistakes.

This became a reality for me on Tuesday when I was “called out” by some people about my insecurity (spelling errors), needless to say no one knows about this insecurity of mine except my close friends and family, so to the people who gave me this information to them it was nothing but helping me, where as for me it was awakening my insecurity.

227974

It got me thinking, how is it that when you think about an insecurity it doesn’t have the same effect as to when someone else says it to you.

This is how I see it…

As babies we grow up not knowing what insecurities are, but as we start growing up and meeting new people our insecurities awaken. Why you may ask ??

Well it’s simple really. our insecurities are given to us by others, if it being called fat, ugly, tall, short, skinny, dumb etc, whatever it may be those words get imprinted in our brains and we start believing it and we start living by those words.

Society has a “rule” as to how people should look and act, if you don’t look or act a certain way than you are known as an outcast of society.

I believe that we should all live by the words of “Psalm 139:14” – “For I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” If God loves us more than anything that He created why can’t we love ourselves equally as much.

PhotoGrid_1483637021384.png

5 thoughts on “INSECURITIES

  1. It is difficult opening your heart like this, but it sure helps with the growing and healing process you need to go through. Stand strong – you are a winner.

    Like

  2. You are already standing in victory! You didn’t let the comments or insecurities hinder you from writing the next one. You are an extraordinary woman, always stay the bubbly happy person you are!

    Like

  3. Wow. Thanks beautiful lady as you are saying what we all have. And we all deal with it our own way. Ps sorry for spelling mistakes u know nobody is perfect. But dam girl you close.

    Like

Leave a Reply

